Interpretation…….

13 Jan


When I was at school ( so long ago ) our English teacher gave us novels to read and report on. Please remember I was a normal, sport loving, girl chasing, car addict that believed school was really an extension of my social life where occasionally I was expected to produce a piece of work that would lay foundations for a career ! Hah!

As I read these novels ( and I always have loved reading ), I would take the story at face value, never delving to deep into moral commentary or hidden lessons. The stories were either a rollicking good yarn or a boring tome which I struggled to digest more than four or five pages at a sitting. This lead to a series of essays that either stated that ” this book was bloody good fun to read” or ” I don’t get it”. Needless to say my poor English teacher struggled to help me achieve a pass mark.

Some of my classmates however interpreted these literary mazes differently to me, they spoke about social commentary of the era, of double meanings, twists that make The Newman/Redford movie ‘The Sting” look straight forward. Slowly over the intervening years I have become aware of the presence of these disguised messages and enjoy discovering what I believe to be the equivalent to the little menus on DVDs such as ‘extra takes’ and ‘from the producer’.

Sometimes I KNOW that there is more to the written word than meets the eye, but my hidden moral/secret message radar is quite obviously tuned to a different frequency , and such was the occasion when I spied this gem on a wall in Brisbane. I of course did a Google search and got a link to someones Flicker account who had also taken the pic, but no further explanation.

I have several of my own ideas, ranging from pocket-money for the lipstick or pawning a friends dads watch to buy make up, to more morally comprised visions of  sordid relationships bought on by facial bling which destroys a fathers standing in the family unit (ie not on my watch).

Anyway, have look, have a think and add your interpretation !

Leave a Reply

