DIY Beauty Dish….

5 Jan

When you get the call from the garage telling you that the transmission in the car will cost $4000 to fix, dreams of a new lighting set up go out the window fast. So what does an enterprising photographer do ? Thats right, Do it yourself.

A beauty dish, strobist style was required and with access to the internet providing a plethora of plans it was just a matter of gathering the bits and pieces and having a go!

It was easy to build and I modified others ideas as I wanted something that was bullet proof and easy to set up. It cost about $35 to build and the SB-600 sits nicely on the Phottix Atlas triggers (which are fantastic by the way, and great value for money)which bolts onto the bracket. I use a mixing bowl, a piece of gutter fitting, a L bracket and some nuts and bolts, painted with quality paint, done!

It’s probably a little small, but then it’s designed to be lit by my little SB-600 and used up close, so until I win the lottery it will fill the void.

I have only taken a couple of quick test shots however it seems to produce the goods and when I use it for real I will upload some images.

Sure I rather a factory built unit with a Bowens S type fitting and grid, but for now this will be fine.

19 Responses to “DIY Beauty Dish….”

  1. Ron van Middendorp January 5, 2012 at 11:57 am #

    Looking good…

  2. andrewplacephotography January 5, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

    Thanks, the proof will be tomorrow with a model in front of it!

  3. Mario Lapete January 9, 2012 at 11:49 pm #

    Marvelous! It’s great! Thanks! 🙂

  4. Nicky Vass January 11, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    Hey! I just want to give an enormous thumbs up for the great data you have right here on this post. I shall be coming again to your blog for more soon.

  5. Mechelle Stohrer January 12, 2012 at 3:54 am #

    genuinely inspiring and creative thinking within the way you use your words. I wish someday my writing skills will be on the same level as yours.

  6. Lita Machkovich January 13, 2012 at 12:22 am #

    My father loves this sort of stuff. I would love a book that i could get him for christmas related to this subject.

  7. Hubert Limber January 13, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

    My father loves this type of stuff. I would adore a book that i could get him for christmas related to this subject.

  8. Manie Marques January 13, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

    After study a number of of the blog posts on your web site now, and I actually like your approach of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark web site record and will be checking back soon. Pls take a look at my site as well and let me know what you think.

  9. graffiti wars January 14, 2012 at 11:54 pm #

    I’m impressed, I must say. Actually not often do I encounter a weblog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is excellent; the problem is something that not enough persons are talking intelligently about. I’m very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something referring to this.

  10. google places listing January 15, 2012 at 12:16 am #

    Loving your blog. I wish i had a web site and could write articles that will be informative but “to the point” as considerably as yours.

  11. Affordable SEO Services January 24, 2012 at 7:04 am #

    It’s laborious to search out educated people on this topic, but you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

  12. affordable seo services January 24, 2012 at 11:52 am #

    It is best to take part in a contest for among the best blogs on the web. I will recommend this site!

  13. Wayne Athanasiou January 25, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

    Thank you for sharing your wealth of information on this blog.

  14. Luigi Fulk January 31, 2012 at 4:31 am #

    I simply want to mention I am newbie to blogging and site-building and definitely savored this page. Likely I’m want to bookmark your website . You surely come with really good stories. Thank you for sharing with us your website page.

  15. Londa Chilek February 2, 2012 at 1:54 am #

    this style of writing is really a true skill and art form! fantastic work I commend anybody having a skill at writing which include yours.

  16. Wilda Cavaretta February 4, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    Well written information. It will be valuable to anyone who employees it, including me. Keep doing what you are doing – for sure I will check out more posts.

  17. news gmail drive January 27, 2013 at 7:12 am #

    I enjoy you blogging your viewpoint.. http://tyler-collins.com of course, research is having to pay off. high school northwest

Leave a Reply

