Any light you can find…..

9 Sep

those of you that know me realise that I follow the K.I.S.S. principle  as much as possible. Probably because I can relate to simple. Last night I was lucky enough to be asked to shoot a function in Brisbane at the beautiful Gambaros restaurant, and whilst doing some portfolio shots for some of the performers I realised that the lighting equipment I had (speedlights) just weren’t achieving the look I wanted. So remembering words from the awesome Joe McNally, use what you got !. So by positioning these fantastic artists under a downlight and positioning a speakers lectern with a white table-cloth draped over it as a reflector, the desired look jumped off the cameras LCD screen and with very little PP some great images were achieved.

It just goes to show, think outside the square, use up some digital film (its free) and try something new.

One Response to “Any light you can find…..”

  1. Squizzy Taylor September 9, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    Love this shot Andy…as you know I too like that K.I.S.S. rule, but at times you are breaking the rules with some very classy shots in return…truly nice work mate!!
    Squiz

Leave a Reply

